SIUE Wrestlers Set for SoCon Championships

SoCon Championships

Tournament Central
Live Stats | Live Video
#SoConWR #RestoreTheGlory

CHARLESTON, S.C. – SIUE's lineup of 10 wrestlers, including two top seeds, are ready for the Southern Conference Wrestling Championships to be held Saturday at McAlister Field House.

All-SoCon wrestlers John Muldoon (133 pounds) and Nate Higgins (165 pounds) earned top seeds for the Championships.

"Throughout the season, both John and Nate have been great on offense," said SIUE Head Coach Jeremy Spates. "We want to continue that and have been talking a lot of about that. They have to wrestle hard and wrestle smart."

The SoCon earned 12 NCAA allocations with the winner of each of the 10 weight classes and the runner-up at both 184 and 197 pounds earning automatic slots at the NCAA Tournament later this month in Cleveland, Ohio.

Zac Gentzler (125 pounds) received a No. 2 seed. Tyshawn Williams (149 pounds) and Christian Dulaney (197 pounds) each earned No. 3 seeds.

"While a lot of guys are going to have to win the whole thing (to advance to the NCAA Tournament), you don't win a finals match without winning your first-round match," said Spates. "We really just want to go out and concentrate on that first-round match."

Campbell will look to defend its 2017 tournament title while Appalachian State enters as the regular-season champion for the third consecutive year.

Tickets for Saturday's action, which begins at 10 a.m., will be single-session. Doors open at 9 a.m.

Prices are $15 for adults, $10 for youth (6-12) and $8 each for groups of 10 or more. Students from Southern Conference schools, including wrestling associate member schools, can pick up a ticket free of charge simply by showing their school IDs.

As part of its partnership with Headlock on Hunger, the SoCon will offer $3 off the ticket price with the donation of a food item at the door.

2018 Southern Conference Wrestling Championship Schedule
9 a.m. – Doors open
10 a.m. – First-round matches
12 p.m. – Semifinals
2 p.m. – Consolation quarterfinals (consolation semifinals immediately after)
5:30 p.m. – Consolation finals
7 p.m. – Finals, true-place matches and award presentation 

125 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Korbin Meink, Campbell
2. Zac Gentzler, SIUE
3. Alonzo Allen, Chattanooga
4. Cliff Conway, VMI
5. De'Andre Swinson-Barr, Appalachian State
6. Michael McClelland, Davidson
7. Will Jacobs, The Citadel
8. No entry, Gardner-Webb

133 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. John Muldoon, SIUE
2. Codi Russell, Appalachian State
3. Chris Debien, Chattanooga
4. Philip Anderson, Gardner-Webb
5. Nathan Boston, Campbell
6. Hunter Starner, VMI
7. Patrick Kearney, The Citadel
8. Zamir Ode, Davidson

141 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Mike Pongracz, Chattanooga
2. Jonathan Ryan, Campbell
3. Douglas Gudenburr, The Citadel
4. Irvin Enriquez, Appalachian State
5. Dakota Leach, SIUE
6. Dustin Runzo, Davidson
7. Denton Spencer, Gardner-Webb
8. Michael Hulcher, VMI

149 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Gavin Londoff, Appalachian State
2. Zach Barnes, Campbell
3. Tyshawn Williams, SIUE
4. Ty Buckiso, The Citadel
5. Roman Boylen, Chattanooga
6. Joby Armenta, Gardner-Webb
7. Aiden Conroy, Davidson
8. Will Lawrence, VMI

157 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Angel Najar, Appalachian State
2. Tyler Marinelli, Gardner-Webb
3. Austin Kraisser, Campbell
4. Jake Adcock, Chattanooga
5. Karsten Van Velsor, SIUE
6. Rian Burris, The Citadel
7. Tony Palumbo, Davidson
8. Steve Midkiff, VMI

165 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Nate Higgins, SIUE
2. Chad Pyke, Chattanooga
3. Quentin Perez, Campbell
4. Brett Stein, Gardner-Webb
5. Blake Hohman, VMI
6. Laken Cook, Appalachian State
7. Hunter Costa, Davidson
8. Houston Curtis, The Citadel

174 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Forrest Przybysz, Appalachian State
2. Justin Lampe, Chattanooga
3. Andrew Morgan, Campbell
4. Christian Maroni, Gardner-Webb
5. Bryce Shewan, SIUE
6. Cade Kiely, VMI
7. Noah Satterfield, Davidson
8. Matt McGillick, The Citadel

184 (2 NCAA allocations)
1. Bryce Carr, Chattanooga
2. Alan Clothier, Appalachian State
3. Luke Funck, Campbell
4. Cole Graves, Gardner-Webb
5. Conor Fenn, Davidson
6. Chris Beck, VMI
7. Jacob Godinez, SIUE
8. Michael Lopouchanski, The Citadel

197 (2 NCAA allocations)
1. Randall Diabe, Appalachian State
2. Scottie Boykin, Chattanooga
3. Christian Dulaney, SIUE
4. Sawyer Root, The Citadel
5. Anthony Perrine, Gardner-Webb
6. Chris Kober, Campbell
7. Konner Pritchard, Davidson
8. Jake Koch, VMI

285 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Jere Heino, Campbell
2. Cary Miller, Appalachian State
3. Connor Tolley, Chattanooga
4. Michael McAleavey, The Citadel
5. Lathan Bumgarner, Gardner-Webb
6. Tommy Helton, SIUE
7. Jake Tomlinson, VMI
8. Will Cooley, Davidson 

*Seeding subject to change


SIUE Set for Senior Day
February 17, 2018 SIUE Set for Senior Day
SIUE Splits Final SoCon Duals
February 11, 2018 SIUE Splits Final SoCon Duals
SIUE Continues SoCon Slate
January 18, 2018 SIUE Continues SoCon Slate
Buffalo Tops Cougars 24-14
January 12, 2018 Buffalo Tops Cougars 24-14
SIUE Gains Split at Indiana
December 2, 2017 SIUE Gains Split at Indiana