Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Yelovich, Jones Earn All-OVC Honors

Yelovich, Jones Earn All-OVC Honors

Feb. 28, 2012

EWARDSVILLE, Ill. - After completing its first season in the Ohio Valley Conference, SIUE men's basketball has garnered honors from the OVC. Junior forward Mark Yelovich (Mt. Zion) was selected to the All-OVC Second Team, while fellow junior forward Jerome Jones (St. Louis) was selected to the OVC's All-Newcomer team in voting conducted by the league's head coaches and SIDs.

Mark Yelovich

Yelovich finished seventh in the OVC in scoring, averaging 15.9 points a game in conference contests. He was fifth in the conference in rebounding, averaging 6.9 boards per league game. Overall Yelovich was eighth in the OVC with a scoring average of 14.9 points per game. Yelovich is now fourth in scoring in SIUE history with 1,191 points for his career.

Jones, playing his first season for SIUE after transferring from Indian Hills Community College, was 11th in scoring, averaging 14.3 points in conference games while grabbing 5.4 rebounds per game, good for 12th in the OVC. Jones was 13th in scoring in all games, with an average of 13.2 points per game. Jones was named as the OVC's Newcomer of the Week after helping SIUE to a back-to-back wins against Tennessee Tech and Jacksonville State.

Jerome Jones


Yelovich and Jones tied for sixth in rebounding with 6.1 rebounds overall.

SIUE completed the conference season with a record of 6-10, good for ninth place.
All of the OVC Awards are listed below:

Player of the Year: Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Defensive Player of the Year: Jewuan Long, Murray State
Freshman of the Year: Myles Taylor, UT Martin
Coach of the Year: Steve Prohm, Murray State

First Team
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Robert Covington, Tennessee State
Kevin Murphy, Tennessee Tech
Donte Poole, Murray State
Jud Dillard, Tennessee Tech

Second Team
Jaron Jones, Eastern Kentucky
Tyler Stone, Southeast Missouri
John Fraley, Austin Peay
Jeremy Granger, Eastern Illinois
Ivan Aska, Murray State
Mark Yelovich, SIUE
*Note there are 6 people on the 2nd team due to a tie in voting.

Tyler Stone, Southeast Missouri
Myles Taylor, UT Martin
Mike DiNunno, Eastern Kentucky
Kellen Thornton, Tennessee State
Jerome Jones, SIUE

EIU Edges SIUE 73-66
February 15, 2012 EIU Edges SIUE 73-66
Redhawks End Cougars Streak
February 11, 2012 Redhawks End Cougars Streak
Cougars Host SEMO Saturday
February 10, 2012 Cougars Host SEMO Saturday