Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

SIUE, Cancun Challenge Officials Announce 2011 Tournament Field

April 26, 2011

FORT COLLINS, Colo. - SIUE men's basketball will join Hampton, Lipscomb and Sacred Heart, in making up the Mayan Division at the 2011 Cancun Challenge, as announced by Triple Crown Sports.

The 2011 Cancun Challenge, in its fourth year, features eight men's NCAA Division I teams in two divisions, the Riviera and Mayan.

The games in Cancun feature two separate four-team brackets with games tipping off on Tuesday, Nov. 22, and completing on Wednesday, Nov. 23.

"This is another great opportunity for our players and our fans to experience a prestigious tournament," SIUE Head Coach Lennox Forrester said.

The Riviera Division includes Illinois, Illinois State, Richmond and Rutgers. All teams will play two games in the U.S. prior to traveling to Cancun. SIUE will travel to Illinois to open the 2011 season Nov. 14. The Cougars then play at Illinois State Nov. 17.

"We are thrilled with the teams who will be participating in the event," said Cancun Challenge Tournament Director Brent Amick. "We feel it will be a very competitive tournament as it has been in the past."

The Cancun Challenge is the fourth consecutive in-season tournament for SIUE, which has won tournament titles each of the past two years. The Cougars captured the Upper Division at the Las Vegas Classic in 2010. SIUE won the Drake Hy-Vee Tournament Classic is 2009. SIUE began its Division I era by participating in the inaugural Charleston Classic, in Charleston, S.C., in 2008.

"Hopefully we can continue to build on our experiences in these tournaments and be prepared when we have the opportunity to participate in post-season play," Forrester said.

Fan package information is available by visiting the Cancun Challenge Website. Fan packages are the only way to ensure admission into the basketball games in Cancun.

This unique tournament is held at the convention center at the beautiful all-inclusive beach front resort of the Moon Palace. Previous Rivera Division champions include Vanderbilt (2008), Kentucky (2009) and Missouri (2010). Previous Mayan Division champions include Sam Houston State (2009) and North Florida (2010).

The Cancun Challenge is owned and operated by Fort Collins, Colo., based Triple Crown Sports, Inc., which also owns and operates other women's college basketball tournaments in Cancun as well as the Preseason and Postseason Women's National Invitation Tournaments.

More Information on the Cancun challenge is available by contacting Melissa Koza at 970-672-0567 or by email at

Cougars Earn Comeback Win
December 31, 2011 Cougars Earn Comeback Win
Cardinals Fly Past Cougars
December 6, 2011 Cardinals Fly Past Cougars
Illinois State Downs Cougars
November 17, 2011 Illinois State Downs Cougars
Cougars Fall in Road Finale
February 20, 2011 Cougars Fall in Road Finale
Redhawks Defeat Cougars
February 7, 2011 Redhawks Defeat Cougars
January 31, 2011 GAME ON!
Tuesday's Games Cancelled
January 31, 2011 Tuesday's Games Cancelled
Cougars Fall at Northwestern
January 20, 2011 Cougars Fall at Northwestern
Forrester Announces Signing
November 12, 2010 Forrester Announces Signing