Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

1986 SIUE Wrestling - Hall of Fame

Coach Larry Kristoff and the Cougars repeated for a third straight season as the NCAA Division II team champions in 1986. The Cougars beat Edinboro by 13 points with three champions -- Tim Wright (Rock Island) at 118 pounds, Alan Grammer (Evansville, Ind.) at 126 pounds, and Steve Stearns (Oak Lawn) at 134 pounds. SIUE finished the season with an overall record of 11-8. During the season, SIUE produced eight All-Americans. This includes Wright, Grammer, Stearns, Kip Kristoff (Bethalto) at 142 pounds, Brian McTague (Morris) at 150 pounds, Bob Dahm (Millstadt) at 158 pounds, Mark Kristoff (Bethalto) at 167 pounds, and Ernie Badger (Mt. Vernon) at 190 pounds. In addition, Grammer earned All-American status at the NCAA Division I Championships where he placed fifth. Other members of the national championship team included Steve Apicella (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.), Kurt Bednar (Willowbrook), Rob Clarkston (Hebron, Ky.), Robert Ervin (Morganfield, Ky.), Steve Flucas (Mascoutah), Dave Hansen (Mascoutah), Eric Morgan (Miami, Fla.), James Smith (Morganfield, Ky.), Joel Surprenant (Bourbonnais), and Jon Wagner (West Allis, Wis.).