Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

SIUE Athletics Announces 2012 Hall of Fame Class

SIUE Athletics Announces 2012 Hall of Fame Class

EDWARDSVILLE, ILL. – Eight individuals and a national championship team are being inducted into the 2012 SIUE Athletics Hall of Fame.

This year’s honorees include Mark Bugger (baseball), Janece Friederich (women’s soccer), Tom Groark (men’s soccer), Jason Holmes (men’s basketball), Lori Sebastian (women’s basketball), Laura McCune (women’s basketball/softball), John Simmons (Friend of the Program), and Dewayne Staats (Friend of the Program). The 1984 SIUE men’s tennis team, which won the seventh of seven straight NCAA Division II national championships for the program, also will be inducted.

David Strickfaden also is being honored as the Jean McDonald Service Award winner.

The ceremony will take place Sept. 15 at SIUE’s Morris University Center.

Reservations for the event can be made by calling SIUE Athletics at 618-650-2871. Tickets are $30. A social for all inductees will be held at 5:30 p.m. followed by the induction ceremony at 6:30 p.m.

Below is a brief sketch of each inductee.

Mark Bugger (Edwardsville, Ill.)

The only two-time baseball All-American at SIUE, Mark Bugger (1998-2001) broke numerous school records at SIUE, including the NCAA Division II hits record. An All-American at shortstop in 2000 and at second base in 2001, he completed his collegiate career with 356 hits and was the first ever to record 100 hits in a single season. He set the bar early in his career with 84 hits, the most ever by a Cougar freshman, and would go on to finish his career with a .394 batting average, 230 games played, 903 at bats, 204 runs scored, 57 doubles, 16 triples, and 20 home runs. His teams advanced to the NCAA Championships twice, including a College World Series appearance in 2001.

Janece Friederich (St. Louis, Mo.)

The lone two-time All-American in SIUE women’s soccer history, Janece Friederich set the standard for offense and continues to dominate the record books. A first team All-American in 1996 and a second team All-American in 1998, Friederich holds all of the career scoring records at SIUE including goals (69), assists (42), points (180), shots (456), and game-winning goals (18). She led the Cougars to NCAA Tournament appearances in 1996 and 1998.

Tom Groark (St. Louis, Mo.)

A first team All-American as a back in 1981, Tom Groark powered a defense which advanced to the NCAA Championships and finished with a 13-4-1 record. Groark started all 18 games that season and completed the year with two goals and four assists. Anchoring the defense, he helped SIUE men's soccer post a season goals against average of 1.06 with seven shutouts. A freshman during SIUE’s national championship team in 1979, Groark would go on to play 78 career games and score six goals while adding 10 assists as a Cougar. 

Jason Holmes (New Castle, Ind.)

The all-time leader in scoring for the Cougars, Jason Holmes made his mark in his first game as a collegiate men's basketball player. Holmes set the single-game scoring record with 45 points against Carthage in 1993. Holmes played in 103 games as a Cougar and scored 1,949 points. The previous record holder had the top spot for nearly 20 seasons. Holmes set himself apart in two areas – three-point shooting and free throws. The Cougar guard holds school records for three-pointers made (222) and free throws made (419).

Lori Sebastian (Jerseyville, Ill.)

The first women’s basketball All-American at SIUE, Lori Sebastian was once the school record holder for scoring with 1,621 points and is currently third overall. A two-time CoSIDA/GTE Academic All-American, she continues to hold the school record for field goals made with 686. Sebastian was named the Most Outstanding Female Athlete in 1989-90 and 1990-91. Playing in 102 career games as a Cougar, Sebastian is sixth all-time in rebounds with 658. She is one of five players ever to lead the Cougars in rebounding three times.

Laura McCune (Waukegan, Ill.)

A softball All-American in 1988 after hitting .410 her senior season, Laura McCune was a two-sport standout for the Cougars. She played three seasons each with basketball and softball. McCune averaged 9.1 points per game during the 1986-87 season. On the softball field, McCune was known for her power at the plate. In 1988, she set the single-season record for home runs with eight and finished the year with 32 extra-base hits among her team-leading 71 hits. McCune completed her softball career with a .323 batting average, 129 hits, and 65 runs batted in.

John Simmons

The namesake of the Simmons Baseball Complex, John Simmons has been a staunch backer of SIUE Athletics. His support has provided the framework for one of the best collegiate baseball facilities in the Ohio Valley Conference and has put SIUE baseball in a position to recruit the best student-athletes in the Midwest. Simmons also serves as a member of the Southern Illinois University Board of Trustees and was one of the individuals responsible for voting to send SIUE Athletics to full NCAA Division I status.

Dewayne Staats

A 1975 graduate of SIUE in mass communications, Dewayne Staats got his start as a student sports reporter for WSIE radio.  He began his broadcasting career as the radio voice of the Oklahoma City 89ers.  In 1975-76 he was sports director at KPLR-TV in St. Louis where he received an Emmy nomination.  He is currently the play-by-play voice of the Tampa Bay Rays and served as an announcer for the Houston Astros (1977-84), the Chicago Cubs (1985-89), the New York Yankees (1990-94), and The Baseball Network (1994-95).  He also handled MLB baseball assignments for FOX Sports National.  He called the first night game at Wrigley Field for the Chicago Cubs and has been nominated for the Ford C. Frick Award, the broadcaster’s award to the Baseball Hall of Fame, and was recently listed among baseball’s top 101 all-time announcers by author Curt Smith.  He earned SIUE’s Distinguished Alumnus of the Year honors in 1987 and was inducted into the SIUE Alumni Hall of Fame in 2006. The Dewayne Staats Award for Broadcast Journalism was established by SIUE’s Mass Communication Department in 2008 to honor sports journalism students at SIUE.

David Strickfaden (Jean McDonald Service Award)

Dave Strickfaden served  as the second men’s head athletic trainer and then became the head athletic trainer of the combined (men’s and women’s) athletic department from 1982-1996.  During Dave’s tenure he had been responsible for designing and equipping  the athletic training rooms in the Vadalabene Center and Korte  Stadium. He also began student athletic training program as well as developed a plan for covering all sports. His service behind the scenes was instrumental in the success that the athletic program enjoyed in the mid and late 1980’s. When he left the University he continued to support the athletic program through his business Fitness Designs.

1984 Men’s Tennis

SIUE captured its record seventh consecutive national championship for Coach Kent DeMars with a repeat of the 1983 championship, defeating Southwest Texas State 5-4 in the title match. Johan Sjogren stepped up as the team's top singles player, advancing to the national semifinals. Sjogren and doubles partner Dave Delsini won the national doubles crown. Other key members of the 1984 squad include Doug Burke, Monty Oppenheim, Peter Moore, Young Min Kwon, Jon Sorbo, and Joe Vassen.