Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

SIUE Teams Claim Academic Achievement Awards


Edwardsville, Ill. – Both the SIUE men's track & field and cross country teams have earned Team Academic Achievement Award honors for the 2016-17 season.

The award is granted annually to the Ohio Valley Conference team with the highest percentage of student-athletes who achieved a 3.25 grade point average or higher per sport.

Last week, the conference announced the list of 1,281 OVC student-athletes who were named on the Commissioner's Honor Roll (for obtaining a 3.25 GPA or higher). SIUE contributed 101 student-athletes to the honor roll list, including seven from men's cross country and eleven from men's track & field.

Below is the list of men's cross country and track & field athletes who were named to the Commissioner's Honor Roll.

Men's Cross Country: Anthony Holshouser (Princeville, Illinois); Keith Meyer (Bloomington, Illinois); Matt O'Connor (Elgin, Illinois); Tyler Owens (Springfield, Illinois); Ben Scamihorn (Marshall, Illinois); Landon Skelly (Chatham, Illinois); Austin Woodard (Philo, Illinois).

Men's Track & Field: John Barnes (Hollowayville, Illinois); Kevin Campbell (Memphis, Tennessee); Ezekiel Clerk (Chicago Heights, Illinois); Alec Dutton (Catilin, Illiniois); Mladen Hristov (Rousse, Bulgaria); Clint Kliem (Elgin, Illinois); Austin Lynch (Roselle, Illinois); Caleb Seagren (Rockford, Illinois); Josh White (Edwardsville, Illinois); Scott Woodard (Philo, Illinois).

The team/institution honorees are:

Baseball: Eastern Kentucky
Men's Basketball: Belmont
Women's Basketball: Eastern Illinois
Men's Cross Country: SIUE
Women's Cross Country: Southeast Missouri
Football: Eastern Illinois
Men's Golf: Eastern Kentucky
Women's Golf: Eastern Illinois
Rifle: Morehead State
Women's Soccer: Southeast Missouri
Softball: Morehead State
Men's Tennis: Eastern Kentucky, Tennessee State
Women's Tennis: Austin Peay
Men's Track and Field: SIUE
Women's Track & Field: Morehead State
Women's Volleyball: Eastern Illinois, Morehead State