Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

OVC Academic Medal of Honor Recipients Announced


Complete Release From the OVC

EDWARDSVILLE, Ill. – SIUE student-athletes have had a history of academic success, and last year was no different. For the 2016-17 seasons, a total of 13 Cougars across eight different sports were commended with the prestigious Ohio Valley Conference Academic Medal of Honor.

The Medal of Honor is awarded annually to student-athletes who obtain the highest-grade point averages in a conference-sponsored sport. Below is the list of SIUE student-athletes who were awarded with the Medal of Honor and achieved a 4.0 GPA for the 2016-17 season.

Cassidy Sherman, Women's Basketball (Algonquin, Illinois)
Erin Kennedy, Women's Cross Country (Wilmington, Illinois)
Allie Sweatt, Women's Cross Country (Edwardsville, Illinois)
Mia Frogner, Women's Tennis (Oslo, Norway)
Ann-Christine Link, Women's Tennis (Luowigshafen, Germany)
Brittany Gibbs, Women's Track & Field (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
Emily Harrison, Volleyball (Thorntown, Indiana)
Mallory Mangun, Volleyball (Joliet, Illinois)
Jackie Scott, Volleyball (Wildwood, Missouri)
Sarah Lopesilvero, Softball (Simpsonville, Kentucky)
Matt O'Connor, Men's Cross Country (Elgin, Illinois)
Austin Woodard, Men's Cross Country (Philo, Illinois)
Ezekiel Clerk, Men's Track & Field (Chicago Heights, Illinois)