Cougar Teams, Student-Athletes Honored by OVC

Cougar Teams, Student-Athletes Honored by OVC

Full Release from the OVC

EDWARDSVILLE, Ill. – Two SIUE athletics programs were honored by the Ohio Valley Conference as recipients of the Team Academic Achievement Awards.

Women’s cross country and women’s golf, garnering the award for the second consecutive season, finished with the greatest percentage of their student-athletes who achieved a grade point average of 3.25 or higher. Eight different OVC institutions claimed at least one award.

The women's golf team, which has carried the highest GPA among SIUE athletics programs for four consecutive semesters, notched a 3.79 team GPA. Women’s cross country finished with the second-best team GPA at 3.53.

In addition, 86 SIUE student-athletes across 14 sports earned spots on the OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll, including the 11 distinguished student-athletes that were recipients of the conference’s Medal of Honor award.

Medal of Honor winners achieved a perfect 4.00 GPA, while members of the Honor Roll earned a grade point average of 3.25 or higher.

SIUE’s Medal of Honor winners include Caleb Wilkerson (Festus, Mo.), baseball; Ashley Capotosto (Des Plaines, Ill.), women’s basketball; Erin Kennedy (Wilmington, Ill.), women’s cross country and track and field; Brittney Jostes (St. Charles, Mo.), women’s golf; Miranda Lidisky (Swansea, Ill.), women’s golf; Molly Marcum (LeRoy, Ill.), women’s golf; Ashton Stair (Milton, Wis.), women’s golf; Megan Campbell (Pekin, Ill.), women’s soccer; Nicolas Vincent (Gatineau, Quebec, Canada), men’s tennis; Mia Frogner (Oslo, Norway), women’s tennis; Cori Harris (Champaign, Ill.), volleyball.

Below is a complete list of the Commissioner’s Honor Roll recipients by sport.

Baseball: Ryan Daniels (St. Louis, Mo.), Chase Green (Effingham, Ill.), Drew Johnson (Newburgh, Ind.), Michael Miller (Tinley Park, Ill.), Doug Putkowski (Mt. Sinai, N.Y.), Denton Reed (Galatia, Ill.), Brett Thomas (Oak Ridge, Mo.), Caleb Wilkerson (Festus, Mo.), and J.D. Williams (Kansas City, Mo.).

Men’s Basketball: Michael Messer (Wildwood, Mo.).

Women’s Basketball: Tierny Austin (Rockford, Ill.), Ashley Capotosto (Des Plaines, Ill.), Allyssa Decker (Moline, Ill.), Valerie Finnin (Mokena, Ill.), Micah Jones (Cowden, Ill.), and Jessie Wendt (Sigel, Ill.).

Men’s Cross Country: Nathan Mefford (Pekin, Ill.).

Women’s Cross Country: Haley Briggs (Argenta, Ill.), Claire Brown (Petersburg, Ill.), Emily Conlon (Ballwin, Mo.), Renee Johns-Goodenough (St. Louis, Mo.), Erin Kennedy (Wilmington, Ill.), Conradette King (Jefferson City, Mo.), and Francesca Sikorski (Joliet, Ill.).

Men’s Golf: Dalton Charboneau (Brooklyn Park, Minn.), Taylor Cox (Columbia, Mo.), Jordan Peters (Delano, Minn.), and Taylor White (Dakota Dunes, S.D.).

Women’s Golf: Alison Gorman (Rockford, Ill.), Brittney Jostes (St. Charles, Mo.), Miranda Lidisky (Swansea, Ill.), Molly Marcum (LeRoy, Ill.), Heather McDaniel (Pinckneyville, Ill.), Ravyn Rodgers (Mt. Carmel, Ill.), and Ashton Stair (Milton, Wis.).

Women’s Soccer: Megan Campbell (Pekin, Ill.), Marissa Delgado (Belleville, Ill.), Alexandra Johnson (Omaha, Neb.), Hope Jones (Granite City, Ill.), Samantha Jones (Florissant, Mo.), Cory Levels (Cary, Ill.), Christine Martinez (Albuquerque, N.M.), Caitlyn Obrock (Florissant, Mo.), Tory Pitts (Brentwood, Tenn.), Kourtney Price (Eureka, Mo.), Mary Kate Reed (Mokena, Ill.), Cassidy Sherman (Algonquin, Ill.), Chelsea Smith (Collinsville, Ill.), and Jenna Springer (Omaha, Neb.).

Softball: Rebecca Gray (Crete, Ill.), Erin Greenwalt (Glen Carbon, Ill.), Amy Hunt (Troy, Ill.), Rachel Keller (Bethalto, Ill.), Alexis Kohrs (DuQuoin, Ill.), Whitney Lanphier (Plainfield, Ill.), Alex McDavid (Suwanee, Ga.), Jill Rackers (Jefferson City, Mo.), Allison Smiley (Johnson City, Ill.), and Chelsea Yankolovich (Phoenix, Ariz.).

Men’s Tennis: Patrick Gaffigan (Springfield, Ill.), Matthew Hutchinson (Barbados), Marten Jonsson (Pitea, Sweden,) and Nicolas Vincent (Gatineau, Quebec, Canada).

Women’s Tennis: Lexi Aranda (Longwood, Fla.), Kali Donner (Weston, Fla.), Mia Frogner (Oslo, Norway), Sierra Halverson (Upsala, Minn.), and Haley Ilcewicz (Lockport, Ill.).

Men’s Track and Field: Ezekiel Clerk (Chicago Heights, Ill.), Derek Drew (Oswego, Ill.), James Dutton (Catlin, Ill.), Julian Harvey (Edwardsville, Ill.), Nathan Mefford (Pekin, Ill.), and Caleb Seagren (Rockford, Ill.).

Women’s Track and Field: Haley Briggs (Cisco, Ill.), Claire Brown (Petersburg, Ill.), LaDonna Caston (Riverdale, Ill.), Emily Conlon (Ballwin, Mo.), Hilary Conrad (O’Fallon, Ill.), Renee Johns-Goodenough (St. Louis, Mo.), Erin Kennedy (Wilmington, Ill.), Conradette King (Jefferson City, Mo.), Megan Lauzon (Rushville, Ill.), and Francesca Sikorski (Shorewood, Ill.).

Volleyball: Cori Harris (Champaign, Ill.), Taylor Held (Brookfield, Wis.), Mallory Mangun (Joliet, Ill.), Haley Norris (St. Charles, Ill.), and Kristen Torre (Highland, Ill.).